Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

An added bonus of being an expat and having friends and family coming to stay is that I get to be a tourist in my own city. I have just waved my parents off after a lovely stay in which they cooed over the little mermaid and saw some of the sights that Dubai has to offer.

On Saturday we headed out to the creek. Firstly we picked up some saffron in the Spice Souk and some scent for my Dad. We eyed up the sparkleys in the Gold Souk. After having been blinded by the abundance of gold and diamonds we went for a walk along the Creek.

This natural waterway is where the initial settlement of Dubai started off and where it’s trading roots lie. For many years wooden ships called Dhows have sailed from India, Pakistan, Iran and many other shores. I love walking along the Deira side of the creek and watching the boats, their inhabitants and all the stock that goes on board.

I am by no means a professional photographer, more of an enthusiastic amateur. My usual subject of course is the little mermaid, but there are just too many photo opportunities along the creek. I could spend hours just clicking away and capturing the sights and the faces of the people who live and work along the creek. I am still very jealous of my friend K. who got invited on board of one these Dhows and was able to take some of the most fascinating portraits I have ever seen. Each line on the weather beaten faces of these men tells a story and shows that beauty is much more about character then about anything else!

Here is a small selection of some of the pictures that I took on this trip. I hope you enjoy looking at them as much as I enjoyed taking them. The Creek is unlike any place I know in Dubai and it seems so far away from all the shiny malls. I love all the difference facets that Dubai has to offer!

Just a fraction of the bling on display.

Just a fraction of the bling on display.

The Spice Souk

The Spice Souk

The view from Deira to Bur Dubai and one of the Abras that will take you across.

The view from Deira to Bur Dubai and one of the Abras that will take you across.

This is will be my cover photo for 2 December when the U.A.E will celebrate it's 42nd birthday.

This is will be my cover photo for 2 December when the U.A.E will celebrate it’s 42nd birthday.

I'm quite proud of this picture. Think it would look good on any wall.

I’m quite proud of this picture. Think it would look good on any wall.

Love the lighting in this picture.

Love the lighting in this picture.

Sunset over the Abras.

Sunset over the Abras.

Bur Dubai side again.

Bur Dubai side again.

 

