Tags

, , , ,

Before the little mermaid was born I knew that there would be poo involved. I just wasn’t quite prepared for the sheer amount of dirty nappies, nor for the exploding ones. You know the ones where you need to completely undress, wash and redress your baby as she is covered in it. While undressing her I need to make sure I get her little romper off without pulling it over her head as that would only result in me getting poo in her hair. I also need to make sure I get every last stubborn bit of it. As the little mermaid is EBF (exclusively breast fed) her poo is sort of a mustard yellow with cottage cheese like bits in it. The good thing is that it doesn’t really smell. I have also read that many EBF babies stop pooping multiple times a day and only do one or two big ones a week. Something tells me that won’t happen here in the Mermaid household. I think that we will be having multiple poopy nappies with at least one poonami a day. Thankfully Mr Mermaid has gotten over his initial fear of dirty nappies and now just gets on with it although there is a lot of telling me and the little mermaid how disgusting it all is.

Lately I have begun to think about possibly using cloth nappies. I am not sure yet and need to do some more research, but there are a couple of things that are pushing me towards the cloth route, firstly the cost aspect. Yes there is the initial investment in the cloth nappies, but once you’ve bought them you can keep re-using them for all your children and even sell them on afterwards. Secondly I love the cute designs they come in shallow, who me?? and then the is the fact that nappies take forever to breakdown, apparently a huge part of the world’s rubbish can be contributed to nappies . Lastly the chemicals that are used in disposable nappies can be harmful to babies skin and the environment as well.

There are also a couple of things that I don’t like. Firstly I don’t like the idea of all the extra washing! At 8-12 nappies a day that’s a lot of extra laundry. Then there is the convenience of disposables while out and about. No need to take home a dirty cloth nappy or forget it and leave it in a very warm car.  You just take it off and throw it in the bin. Lastly from what I have read it may take a while before you find the right nappy for you and your baby and although I do like a bit of online shopping and am best mates with the Aramex delivery guy with shipping costs as well it could turn into quite an expensive experiment.

So, the jury is still out on this one!

Look at the range of colours and designs!

Look at the range of colours and designs!

