Tags

, , , ,

I’d commented earlier on facebook that packing your hospital bag is a little bit like packing for a surprise holiday. Do you bring your snow suit, or your bikini? Although it is safe to say that I am quite sure that I will need neither of those, the question remains what do you pack?

This is what I’ve packed so far:

  • Cord blood and Stem cell collection kit
  • Camera
  • Birth plan
  • Old nightie and two new ones.
  • Ginormous black undies
  • Socks
  • Dressing gown
  • Maternity pads (oh the glamour of pregnancy and child birth!)
  • Cotton pads to wipe babies bum
  • Sweet almond oil
  • Nipple cream (more glamour)
  • Toiletries including a refreshing face spray, a nice scent and even some make-up (don’t want to look like death warmed up in the pictures). Toothpaste,  lavender massage oil for Mr. Mermaid to use on my back and arnica gel and tablets to help with bruising.
  • Onesies
  • Sleep suits
  • Swaddling blanket
  • Hat, scratch mitts and booties
  • Muslin cloths
  • Going home outfit for mother and baby (legging and stretchy top for Mum, sweet little outfit for baby)
  • Ipads, ipods, chargers, phones, adapters and an extension cord to plug them all in.
  • Book (might be optimistic!)
  • Clothes and toiletries for Mr. Mermaid
  • Snack, drinks
  • Maxi-cosi car seat
  • Camelbak water bottle so I can drink while lying on my side as well
  • Nursing bra’s
  • Breast pads
  • Pashmina 
  • Breastfeeding pillow

Waiting for Mr. Aramex to deliver my TENS machine, so we can bring that too. In short, it looks more like I’ve packed for a two week holiday for a family of four. In a few weeks I am sure that I will be able to give you an update on what actually made sense to bring and what was useless. Mr. Mermaid will be loading it all in the boot of our new car this weekend while I will drape the seats with black bags and towels just in case my waters break in the car. I am just hoping there will be somebody at the hospital who can give him a hand because I very much doubt I will be able to carry a suitcase. 

Image

