Tags

, , ,

Early this morning Mr Mermaid and I went off to see the Physiotherapist to go through possible birthing positions. As I have been having lots of trouble with my pelvis I wanted to make sure that I was getting the right advise so as not to aggravate these issues during delivery.

It was really reassuring to go through the different options and it’s made me feel much more certain that I will be able to deliver the little mermaid. It’s also quite amazing to see how many options there are and how the modern delivery beds can change positions. 

However it is slightly odd discussing intimate issues regarding your ‘bits’ with your husband and the physiotherapist. It could be worse, I have also had a discussion about the weather while undergoing an internal exam. Pregnancyis so glamorous. When talking about the perineum in the second stage of labour, I made the mistake of mentioning that I know that feeling gets called the ring of fire. It took me about 1 nano-second to realise that I should not have said this in front of my husband. Immediately I told him, do not dare to sing that song to me! I have since begun to wonder what Mr Johnny Cash was  really singing about:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hbo6WhbNRsc

Now of course this song has been stuck in my head and I am pretty sure that Mr. Mermaid has just added it to my ‘delivery’ playlist on the ipod. 

Image

