Someone recently suggested opening an e-mail address for our daughter and to send her a letter regularly so she can read them back when she is old enough. This is my first attempt. 

To my little mermaid,

 

You have yet to arrive into this world and you have no idea how much your Daddy and I are looking forward to meeting you.  I am counting down the days, but also want to urge you to take your time. There is no need for you to come early and if you want to stay where you are for a couple of extra days I promise I won’t complain too much.

There are a lot of people waiting for you spread over at least three continents. You will be one of these lucky babies with tons of ‘aunties’ and ‘uncles’, most of them not related to you, but they won’t love you any less. One Nana, one Granddad, one Oma, one Opa and one Overgrootoma (great grandmother) are cheering you on from the side lines. Oh and one darling little black doggie who can’t wait to sniff your little feet.

The world you are coming into is a strange place. It is a place filled with lots of love, beauty and happiness.  On the other side there is also a lot of hate, ugliness and unhappiness.  Sometimes the world we live in is a truly horrible place. As your mother I will do my best to protect you from this dark side. I promise to try and raise you to see the good in the world and its inhabitants.

Now what you think of us, your parents, you will have to decide for yourself. I won’t lie and tell you that we will never embarrass you, actually we are both looking forward to doing so. We will laugh at you and with you. We will tease you, occasionally mock you and if we think you need it, we will scold you. But, above all we will love you with all heart and we will never stop loving you.

Keep safe my little darling and can’t wait to finally hold you in my arms.

Lots of love from,

Mamma Image

