I’ve been going through a bit of a musical return to my youth. It’s probably the pregnancy hormones that make me feel nostalgic. 

Isn’t it great how listening to a certain song can instantly take you back to a certain time or place in your life. I love the way that makes me feel. Certain albums are like a warm blanket to me and if I need to feel safe and reassured they never fail to make me feel like that.  Other albums instantly put me in a good mood and make me want to sing and dance. Yet others are great for listening to when I’m angry. I’ll sing along really loudly, preferably in the car and vent my anger that way. It’s a lot quicker and cheaper then going to see a therapist! 

Here are a couple of my favourite songs and why I love them so much!

Pearls by Sade:

She is one of my all time favourite artists and I love ALL her songs. I was lucky enough to see her perform live last year in Abu Dhabi and it was honestly one of the best concerts I have ever been to in my life! 

L’aurora by Eros Ramazzotti

This is one of the songs from his album Dove c’è musica. It was played pretty much all throughout one of our family holidays to Italy. I just need to close my eyes and I’m back there. 

Muddy waters by Vaya Con Dios

Strangely enough this a band from Belgium (no offence to my Belgian friends). Maybe it’s because I’m becoming a Mum, but I love the lyrics. 

Come together by The Beatles. 

The Beatles were one of my first loves, literally. I wanted to marry them, all of them and my Dad when I was little girl of about 4 or 5. Strawberry fields used to be my favourite song, but as I’ve grown up and had to give up my dream of marrying the Beatles and my Dad, I’ve moved on. Still love their music though. 

Stiekem gedanst by Toontje Lager. 

This Dutch 80’s band is great! The song is about a guy in a bar who sings about fantasising about dancing with this girl because he is too shy to ask her. Very innocent and I love the video clip, very 80’s indeed. Check out those pants and the dance moves!

Sometimes I feel like a motherless child by Van Morrison.

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0N9SvLUYGuI

Oh, Van the Man you have truly played such a large role in my childhood. You are the king of depressive rock, and I will never be able to listen to your songs without instantly being back in the back seat of the car, driving home in the dark through the rain. 

 

