Yesterday I managed to get myself lost in Jumeirah I. Now, I say lost but it was more a case of thinking I had found a quick way to get from Beach Road to Al Wasl Road which turned out to be a dead end. However it was one of those times when I really enjoyed getting lost. Once I’d turned my car around, I felt as if I had stepped back in time 50 years. No longer could I see the shiny new towers along Sheikh Zayed Road, instead there was a wonderful hodgepodge of houses with peeling paint and rickety old chairs outside the front. I could hear the Azaan (call to prayer) though my open window and the setting sun just added to the picture. I didn’t have a camera with me, but have since put one in the car so next time I will be able to share such moments on here.

Maybe it is just me, but I enjoy getting lost. Not when you are in a hurry, and there are people waiting for you. However if you are not in a rush it a great way to discover new and exciting places. When you have recently moved somewhere, it is  the best way to get to know a new city. You can get lost while walking, cycling or while driving. Then lastly when you have finally found your way again you can feel really proud about yourself! At least, I do.

In a city as vast and with as many contrasts as Dubai, it is great to go off the beaten path. Now I realise that Jumeirah is hardly ‘out there’, but most of us tend to not venture too much into the maze of streets in between the larger roads.

So, next time you go out and you have a bit of extra time, go down that street you’ve never been down and see what lies at the end of it!

